7th Annual Mock Court 2011

One hundred students from ten Washington area high schools appeared in Federal Court on April 8, 2011 to argue cases before U.S. District Court judges.

The students, practicing their litigation skills, were from 10 schools (Columbia Heights Education Campus, Coolidge, Idea PCS, Maret, McKinley Tech, National Cathedral, School Without Walls, St. Albans, Theodore Roosevelt, and H.D. Woodson) and presented their arguments to 11 judges (Judges Collyer, Facciola, Friedman, Howell, Huvelle, Kay, Kessler, Robinson, Sullivan, Walton, and Wilkins.)

The students were honored for their performance by the participating judges in an awards ceremony following their arguments. The most outstanding advocate in each courtroom received a $100 prize.

All participants received a gift certificate for the purchase of a book plus a certificate of participation.

Volunteer attorneys from the following law firms and organizations helped the students prepare for their day in court: Chadbourne & Parke, Covington & Burling, Goodwin Procter, Hogan Lovells, Jenner & Block, Morrison & Foerster, Nixon Peabody, WilmerHale, Zuckerman Spaeder, Americans United for the Separation of Church and State, and The Howard University Trial Team

A reception followed the awards ceremony in the Atrium of the E. Barrett Prettyman U.S. Courthouse.


  • Enoch Ajayi – McKinley Tech
  • Samantha Brew – McKinley Tech
  • Heber Diaz – Columbia Heights Education Campus
  • Muriel Hamilton – H.D. Woodson
  • Austin Hampton – St. Albans
  • Kendra Hill – Columbia Heights Education Campus
  • Malik Jackson – Calvin Coolidge
  • Correy Kennedy – Idea PCS
  • Zein Khleif – Maret
  • Jose Mercedes – Theodore Roosevelt
  • Noah Weinthal – Maret
  • Luis Zelaya – Columbia Heights Education Campu